Varian Award



The Varian Award is given to a radiation therapist who has made a significant contribution to the field of radiation therapy.


Nominations for the 2023 Varian Award are now closed.

The Varian Award is an annual award made to a practising radiation therapist in Australia generously sponsored by Varian Medical Systems Australia. This prestigious award exists solely to honour high achievement in Radiation Therapy, recognising very significant contributions by a radiation therapist to the profession and advancing patient care in Australia over many years. It also reflects acknowledgement by one’s peers of a demonstrated commitment to the professional community and ASMIRT.

Contributions to the profession and patient care can manifest in many and varied ways. Importantly though, the award highlights the “extra yards” that award winners have gone, usually over many years, to advancing the profession, patient care, professional education and development and to promoting the role and purpose of ASMIRT.

Radiation therapists may self-nominate or be nominated by others in order to be considered for the award. Nominations are received and assessed by the Radiation Therapy Reference Group (RTRG) and a recommendation made to the Board of ASMIRT. Nominees must have been a member of ASMIRT for at least five years.

The award consists of a monetary Travel Award and a commemorative plaque which will be presented at the next ASMIRT Conference, held in Darwin, NT from 9-12 May 2024. The award winner will be invited to present on a topic of their choice.

So, if you know a radiation therapist who you think has gone those “extra yards” why not nominate them for consideration of the award?

Direct all enquiries to the Radiation Therapy Reference Group via email to

ASMIRT expresses its gratitude to Varian – A Siemens Healthineers Company for the generous and continued support of this prestigious award.


Previous Varian Award Recipients

2001 Marianne Hercus
2002 Wendy Kramer
2004 Jennifer Cox
2005 Aldo Rolfo
2006 Greg Rattray
2007 Annette McCormack
2009 Shane Dempsey
2010 Leigh Smith
2011 Sharon Maresse
2012 Jennie Baxter
2013 Collin Hornby
2014 Bronwyn Hilder
2015 David Willis
2016 Cherry Agustin
2017 Marianne Rinks
2018 Rachel Kearvell
2019 Sarah Everitt
2021 Jo Page
2022 Nigel Anderson