Varian Award for Achievement for Radiation Therapists 

Congratulations to our 2018 Varian Award winner

Rachel Kearvell

Rachel Kearvell with Stuart Hamilton, Global Accounts Manager at Varian Medical Systems Australasia

The Varian Award is an annual award made to a practising radiation therapist in Australia generously sponsored by Varian Medical Systems Australia. This prestigious award exists solely to honour high achievement in Radiation Therapy, recognising very significant contributions by a radiation therapist to the profession and advancing patient care in Australia over many years. It also reflects acknowledgement by one’s peers of a demonstrated commitment to the professional community and ASMIRT.

Contributions to the profession and patient care can manifest in many and varied ways. Importantly though, the award highlights the “extra yards” that award winners have gone, usually over many years, to advancing the profession, patient care, professional education and development and to promoting the role and purpose of ASMIRT.

Radiation therapists may self-nominate or be nominated by others in order to be considered for the award. Nominations are received and assessed by the Radiation Therapy Advisory Panel (RTAP) and a recommendation made to the Board of ASMIRT. Nominees must have been a member of ASMIRT for at least five years.

The award consists of a monetary Travel Award and a commemorative plaque which will be presented at the next ASMIRT Conference, held in Melbourne from 14-17 May 2020. The award winner will be invited to present on a topic of their choice.

So, if you know a radiation therapist who you think has gone those “extra yards” why not nominate them for consideration of the award?

Download the Application Form and submit to by Thursday 20 February 2020.

ASMIRT expresses its gratitude to Varian Medical Systems Australia for the generous and continued support of this prestigious award.

Nominations for the 2019 Varian Award close Thursday 20 February 2020.

Enquiries should be directed to the Radiation Therapy Reference Group via email to Min Ku –