The Society is governed by its Constitution, which is a document that defines it, and provides a basic set of ‘rules’ for the daily running and management of the organisation. It provides the terms of reference and is composed of a number of articles, each of which contains rules for a particular aspect of running the Society.

Read the Constitution here
Read the Strategic Plan here
List of all ASMIRT Presidents can be downloaded here

Board of Directors

Being a Company Limited by Guarantee, and in accordance with its Constitution, the business of the Society is managed by a voluntary Board of Directors comprising the President, the immediate Past President (for a term of one year), six State Branch elected members, and up to two appointed directors from outside the immediate profession.
The Board of Directors is instrumental in defining the strategic direction of the Australian Society of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy and must comply with all ASIC regulations pertaining to its governance.

The Board of Directors is autonomous. While each state elects a Director to best represent their interests, Directors are required to make decisions for the greater benefit of the organisation as a whole, not for any particular group of members.


Chief Radiation Therapist
W.P. Holman Clinic
48 Liverpool Street
Hobart TAS 7000



Bronwyn is the President of ASMIRT. She has worked nationally and internationally in both public and private services. Her clinical role is as the Chief Radiation Therapist at the WP Holman Clinic at the Royal Hobart Hospital. She has previously been a member and chair of the then Professional Accreditation and Education Board of ASMIRT and a member of the Radiation Therapy Advisory Panel. She has presented locally, nationally and internationally, has a research interest in the area of advanced practice for radiation therapists and a focus on providing optimal patient care.



The Royal Children’s Hospital
50 Flemington Rd
Parkville VIC 3052


Carolyn is the Victoria representative on the ASMIRT Board of Directors. She is currently also a Trustee and Treasurer for the Nicholas Outterside Trust. Carolyn has previously been a member of the Medical Imaging Advisory 1 Panel and in Victoria, a member and chair of the Continuing Education Committee and member of the Professional Accreditation and Education Committee. She has recently stepped down as the Radiographer Manager at Austin Health in Melbourne. Carolyn is keen to advance the profession and has a special interest in orthopaedic imaging, decreasing patient dose and increasing patient care.




Chief Radiation Therapist / Manager
Northern Cancer Service
Level 1 Charles Street
Launceston, TAS 7250


Natalie is the Tasmania representative on the ASMIRT Board of Directors. Her clinical role is Chief Radiation Therapist / Manager of the Northern Cancer Service. She is also the Board Liaison for the Education Committee. Natalie is passionate about the training and development of radiation therapy staff and students, in conjunction with leading change in the field of radiation therapy.



Curtin University of Technology
GPO BOX U1987,
Perth WA 6845 


Georgia is the Western Australia representative on the ASMIRT Board of Directors. Georgia trained as a radiation therapist and worked clinically before completing her PhD and embarking on a research career focussing on cancer patients’ psychosocial and information needs,  communication between health professionals and cancer patients, radiation therapy workforce issues and the needs of carers of patients diagnosed with terminal cancer. Georgia is a Senior Research Fellow at Curtin University and has published extensively. Georgia is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors Course and Director Pipeline Program. She is currently Board Liaison for the Fellowship Panel, the Particle Therapy Working Group, the Research Lead Committee and the Editorial Review Board of the Journal of Medical Radiation Sciences. Georgia is committed to encouraging, supporting and mentoring medical radiation professionals to lead and participate in research projects.



Lecturer in Medical Radiation
University of South Australia
108 North Terrace
Adelaide 5001 SA



Shayne is the South Australia representative on the ASMIRT Board of Directors. He is a lecturer in medical imaging at the University of South Australia and previously held the position of diagnostic radiographer at Flinders Medical Centre. Shayne is a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy and an Associate Fellow of the Higher Education Research and Development Society of Australasia. Shayne is passionate about student membership and contributing to the global health community, with the ultimate goal of improved patient-centred care. Shayne is one of the Board Liaisons on the ASMIRT Education Committee. He is also a news and online editor of the Journal of Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences (JMIRS) is an international, peer-reviewed journal.



Previous – Chief Medical Radiation Practitioner
Mid North Coast Local Health District NSW
Now – Senior Locum Relief
Government and Private Agencies Nationwide




Christopher is the NSW representative on the ASMIRT Board of Directors. He has been an ASMIRT Diagnostic member for 45 years and was awarded the Nicholas Outterside Medallion for services to the profession in 2012. He is currently on NSW State Committee and Co-Board liaison with the Membership and Advocacy Committee. He was a member and chair of the Rural and Remote Practitioners Advisory Panel for 14 years and Diagnostic Convenor National Conference 2002. He currently provides Senior Locum Relief Services for Government and Private agencies nationally. He has an absolute passion for patient focused care and considers it a privilege to serve our communities. Making every patient the focus of professional and compassionate care is the driver for the best possible clinical pathways and outcomes for the patients entrusted to his care.



Deputy Director
Townsville University Hospital
100 Angus Smith Dr, Douglas 4814 QLD



Naomi is the Queensland representative on the ASMIRT Board of Directors. Living and working in regional Queensland for over 27 years, Naomi understands the need for effective communication and a high level of engagement within the regional Queensland and to its members. As the MRI Team Leader, she thrived on managing a diverse workforce, balancing technological innovations with multiple challenges offered by a regional setting. As an ASMIRT Board member, her vision will be to work together with the regional members and other members across Australia to build a strong network through effective communication.