Have you heard? We have changed name. Find out more now!

Where Can I Study


Diagnostic Imaging/Medical Imaging                                        Radiation Therapy

International Student                                                                    Ultrasound

Approved Australian Courses
An applicant whose academic qualifications do not meet the Australian standard and whose application for accreditation has been rejected may receive advice from OQAP to upgrade their qualifications to the Australian standard.  The Universities that conduct courses approved by the Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia are listed below.  These Universities may be approached for the upgrade of the qualifications gained overseas.  The individual Universities may grant recognition for prior learning for some subjects.  The recognition for prior learning are at the discretion of the individual University. If you have any questions relating to the courses listed below, please contact the University directly.

Dr Daphne James
Program Convenor BMRS
School of Health Sciences
Faculty of Health and Medicine

The University of Newcastle

Box 16, Hunter Building
Callaghan   NSW   2308
tel: +61 2 4921 6667
fax: +61 2 4921 7053

web: www.newcastle.edu.au/faculty/health 

Approved courses:

  • Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Diagnostic Radiography) – 3 year programme
  • Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Radiation Therapy) – 3 year programme



A/Professor Jenny Wilkinson
Course Director, Dentistry and Health Sciences
Charles Sturt University
Locked Bag 588
tel: +61 2 6933 4019
fax: +61 2 6933 2835
email: sdhscd@csu.edu.au
web: www.csu.edu.au/faculty/science/dentistry-health/

Approved courses:

  • Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Medical Imaging) (with and without honours)  4 year programme

Professor Steven Meikle
Head of Discipline
Discipline of Medical Radiation Science
The University of Sydney
PO Box 170
Lidcombe NSW 1825
tel: +61 2 9351  0847
fax: +61 2 9351 0852
email: steven.meikle@sydney.edu.au

web: http://sydney.edu.au/health-sciences/disciplines/medical-radiation/index.shtml

Approved courses:

  • Bachelor of Applied Science (Diagnostic Radiography) – 4 year programme
  • Master of Diagnostic Radiography – 2 year programme



A/Professor Charlotte Sale
Discipline of Medical Radiations  
School of Medical Science
RMIT University Bundoora West Campus
GPO Box 71
Bundoora   VIC   3083
tel: +61 3 9925 7786
fax: +61 3 9925 7466
email: charlotte.sale@rmit.edu.au
web: http://www.rmit.edu.au/medicalsciences

Approved courses:

  • Bachelor of Applied Science in Medical Radiations – 3 year programme
  • Bachelor of Applied Science (Medical Radiations) – Medical Imaging 3 year programme  
  • Master of Medical Radiations (Medical Imaging) – 2 year programme
  • Bachelor of Applied Science (Medical Radiations) – Radiation Therapy – 3 year programme 

Professor Paul Yielder
Foundation Professor and Course Director
Medical Imaging School of Medicine
Faculty of Health
Deakin University
Locked Bag 20000, Geelong, VIC 3220
tel: +61 3 5227 3965
email: p.yielder@deakin.edu.au
web: http://www.deakin.edu.au/study-at-deakin/find-a-course/medical-imaging

Approved courses:

  • Bachelor of Medical Imaging – 4 Year Program



Professor Pam Rowntree
Discipline Leader, Medical Radiation Sciences
Faculty of Health
Gardens Point Campus / Q Block / Room Q416
Queensland University of Technology
PO Box 2434
Brisbane   QLD   4001
tel: +61 7 3864 2346
fax: +61 7 3864 1521
email: p.rowntree@qut.edu.au  

web: http://www.health.qut.edu.au/cs/study/courses.jsp#medicalradiation

Approved courses:

  • Bachelor of Applied Science Medical Radiation Technology (Medical Imaging Technology) – 3 year programme
  • Bachelor of Applied Science Medical Radiation Technology (Radiotherapy Technology) – 3 year programme


Jane Shepherdson
Program Director
Medical Radiations, School of Health Sciences
University of South Australia
GPO Box 2471
Adelaide   SA   5001
tel: +61 8 8302 2902
fax: +61 8 8232 2766
email: jane.shepherdson@unisa.edu.au
web:  www.unisa.edu.au/hls/


Approved courses:   

  • Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Medical Imaging) & Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Radiation Therapy)



Dr Sharon Maresse
Discipline Leader
Medical Radiation Science
Faculty of Science and Engineering
Curtin University of Technology
GPO Box U1987
Perth  WA   6845
tel: +61 8 9266 3151
fax: +61 8 9266 2377

email:  Sharon.Brackenridge@curtin.edu.au
web:  http://scieng.curtin.edu.au/science/medical-radiation-science/ 

Approved courses:

  • Bachelor of Science (Medical Imaging Science) – 4 year programme
  • Master of Radiation Therapy – 2.2 year programme

Professor Marilyn Baird
Head of Department 
Medical Imaging & Radiation Sciences 
Monash University
Wellington Road
Clayton   VIC   3168
tel: +61 3 9905 1270
fax: +61 3 9905 4302
email: marilyn.baird@med.monash.edu.au 
web: www.med.monash.edu.au/radiography/ 

Approved courses:

  • Monash - Master of Medical Radiations (RT) – 2 Year programme
  • Monash University - Bachelor of Radiography and Medical Imaging


Caroline Falconi
Discipline Lead, Medical Imaging
School of Medical & Applied Sciences
Higher Education Division 
Building 1, Boundary Road, Mackay,
QLD 4740
Email: c.falconi@cqu.edu.au
Web: www.cqu.edu.au/courses-and-programs/study-areas/health/undergraduate/bachelor-of-medical-imaging2

Approved courses:

  • Bachelor of Medical Imaging – 4 year programme


Updated 19 June 2015